Demeter Credits small town roots for success

Caleb Demeter was only 8-years-old when he and his family moved from Turlock, Calif., to Wickenburg. His dad is a pastor and had an opportunity to preach at Calvary Baptist Church. Caleb has grown up here, and wouldn’t want it any other way.

“I’m very glad that a small town was the bulk of my growing up,” said Demeter, who is now 19-years old. “I was really glad that I lived in bigger places as a younger kid, but then I was very glad to live in Wickenburg for 10 years. I like the variety.”

 Demeter began performing when he moved and was involved in Camp Imagination and Wickenburg High School Exousia Voce, an advanced mixed ensemble, as well as the annual play and musical. Involvement in those activities gave him so many opportunities to act, sing and perform, along with experiences he will never forget.

“Singing – I’ve been doing for as long as I can remember,” said Demeter.

He credits Tara Cleveland, former Wickenburg High School Choir and Exousia Voce director, for encouraging him to audition for Voce his freshman year while rehearsing for the spring musical Anything Goes.

“Mrs. Cleveland came to me during musical rehearsal and said, ‘Hey, you’re a guy and you can sing. We need those,’” said Demeter. “So then I was in Voce for three and a half years.”

Along with Voce, Demeter was an active participant of Camp Imagination. His first performance was Honk, where he played an ugly duckling.

“It’s still one of my favorite musicals ever,” said Demeter.

Being a part of Camp Imagination is something that Caleb will always remember, as it gave him lifelong friends and so many memories.

“My favorite memories from Camp all center around the people. I love music, I love drama, I love performing, but the people in Camp were so unique,” said Demeter. “I loved getting to know them all. It just opened up a lot of opportunities for me.”

Camp Imagination not only gave Caleb great memories and opportunities, but experience and skill that he will never take for granted.

“It’s helped a lot with life skills like public speaking, confidence and improvisations,” said Demeter. “It’s really Camp Imagination that has gotten me where I am now.”

Demeter recently finished his first year at The Master’s University in Santa Clarita, Calif., where he is double majoring in music education and vocal performance. He is also an active member of The Master’s University Chorale, that travels around the world and sings various arrangements of classic hymns. One of his favorite memories from the Chorale’s recent concert tour to Israel and Italy, was singing Joshua Fought the Battle of Jericho, in the city of Jericho.

“We would just sing in random places,” said Demeter. “It’s awesome.”

After traveling the world with the Chorale, Demeter is back in his favorite small town, working at Camp Imagination and preparing for his career as a high school music teacher. Demeter is grateful for his time at Camp growing up and all that it prepared him for, so now he is coming back to prepare the next generation of performers.

In the fall, Demeter will go back to California to pursue his degrees and continue performing. He is grateful for all his experiences in Wickenburg with Camp Imagination and Voce, and for all the people that helped guide him and mentor him. He looks forward to the future, but knows that a lot can change.

“It’s been a good year and things are moving forward,” said Demeter. “A lot can happen, but I’m keeping myself open to God’s plan.”

View the article at wickenburgsun.com. 

Leave a Reply

